Neat Handstitching Tip

This week I set the lining into the coat I’m remaking and attached the collar. I needed to make some shoulder pads, and re-attach some little ‘tapes’ of lining to hold the bottom of the armhole seam to the top of the side seam. These had got lost ripping down the coat.

The collar has a top in velvet, the turnings are quite bulky. I’m prick stitching the turnings to the coat body fractionally below the seam to help them to stay in place and not pop up. This stitch is simple to do and shouldn’t show in such a thick wool, but in case it is visible I’m keeping it evenly spaced.

Some people do this by drawing a couple of lines on one finger or on a thumbnail, but getting the digit lined up seems to interfere with my rythm and slow the stitching down. So, FWIW here’s my tip for even spacing.

Spacing Handstitches

I have a strip of scrap fabric with a couple of different machine stitches along its edges. I’ve pinned it along the collar edge, and the stitching row is going in just below it. The needle is coming up every second zigzag. You can’t see the stitches on the right, because that’s the point really.

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Sewing methods, Techie Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Neat Handstitching Tip

  1. Kim says:

    Such a simple idea but absolute genius. Thanks for sharing 😃

    Like

  2. seweverythingblog says:

    What a great tip! One of those “hit-myself-on-the-forehead” moments.

    Like

  3. Valerie says:

    That’s a really good tip. Thanks!

    Like

  4. fabrickated says:

    Very clever Jay! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

