Zero Gravity

It’s been a while. I’ve sewn stuff of course, but life feels weighted heavily towards Pandemonium and light on Pattern.

3 of the garments sewn below :-

Dress in Patterned Sheer

This was for one daughter. The bodice had extra length to create a bloused effect, some of the bust dart was transferred to the wide neckline and the top of the sleeve pattern was removed before slashing and spreading the sleeve to add some fullness. Ties are threaded through the waist and the neckline/sleeve top. Its a moderately sheer fabric, most likely a poly, which has been in stash forever. It has some woven stripes of different widths running through it, these being less sheer and having a slight sheen, but not true satin weave. Despite its synthetic origin, the fabric is pleasingly soft.

The seams were double stitched and zigzagged to finish. You’re probably wondering why I didn’t french seam, and the answer is a combination of laziness and fear of fraying. This way I got to trim the excess last. Why didn’t I overlock? Laziness and lack of overlocker spools of navy.

The next two also were not for me, and I unwisely tried to get a quick shot of them on before packing them off. They don’t fit and I’m not sure if you can get as good an idea of the shape as would have been shown if I’d photographed them flat, but here goes:-

Bloused Top

This is cut to have a bloused top, set onto a peplum which is open at the sides, with ties drawing the waist in (tying each side). It has no CF seam, the turn back revers are faced back finishing at the point on the CF line. This is tricky but not impossible, you just need to take very narrow turnings on the slit, shaping the stitching in to a point at the bottom. The sleeves are ‘grown on’ as cap sleeves. This fabric is beautiful but the colours aren’t showing up wonderfully on my monitor. It’s a crisp, lightweight silk which I bought as a remnant scarcely bigger than half a metre, from a shop on Bethnal Green Road.

The last one fits me not at all! The fabric is a shiny rayon of a lovely violet colour and quite a decent ‘hand’, not harsh. What might look like tragically bad sleeve heads are part of a cut with a lowered, squared armhole and narrowed bodice piece. Those darts miss their mark by a mile on me, but should home in on DD. I haven’t used this cut for decades, last sewing a similar top in the mid 70s. I really liked that top and am hatching a vague plan to recut this pattern to my measurements. If it gets done, I’ll try to furnish a better account of the pattern adaptations.

Really Not Fitting

In my defense for the lousy shots, it was baking hot and I didn’t bother to check them out on the screen before sending the clothes on their way, so no secnd chances.

I also made, I think four dresses, but have no pictures of these.

Zero gravity? Events are making me feel as though I’m weightless floating in a capsule hurtling to a world I won’t recognise. Any other disoriented stitchers out there?

 

 

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Zero Gravity

  1. mrsmole says:

    While your garments are beautifully made and well thought out with yummy fabrics…the caption could be, “Fit is Everything”…ha ha. Sewing is the only thing that is keeping me sane in the world of insane politics here in the US. With a laughing stock of a president, it is hard to maintain hope. If only we had MORE women leaders…this shit would not be so prevalent. If only we could escape the news media for a month or so and return to days past when common sense and decency was the norm. Good luck on future projects and clearing out your stash, Jay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jay says:

      Fit does indeed make or break. Ethan Hawke was a guest on a BBC show recently, nostalgic for the days of civilised political opposition, now replaced by personal attack.

      Like

  2. Aunt Mayme says:

    Oh, don’t get me started on “disorientation”! After making two muslins for a modified dress pattern (the top was KwikSew 2438 and the skirt was copied from a RTW garment I love), I realized that my shape from the last time I used the pattern has greatly changed! A more forward thrusting shoulder, rounder shoulders, lower “girls” and a variety of other “creative body endeavors”, has forced me again to make adjustments. And here I thought with all my years of experience that it would be easy.

    But thankfully my Diamond Head Park pants pattern came in and I can play around with it. And hopefully clear out my stash in the process.

    Your tops are beautiful, even though they don’t fit. And it’s a good visual for examples. The fabrics are gorgeous; I wish I could find nice fabric shops within an hour’s drive from me. But alas, I have to order online, because any decent fabric store is over five hours away!

    Happy sewing,
    Beth

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice to hear what you’ve been up to! I hope life calms down soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fabrickated says:

    I really like all the items you have photographed here, and even on the wrong model you do get a sense that these are well designed, creative, interesting garments made in the right fabric (in the nicest colours).

    Like

  5. Kim says:

    Thanks for being game enough to show us the garments on a body -even if it was the wrong body. The fabrics look lovely, and I’m sure your daughter will be delighted to get these gorgeous additions to her wardrobe. I can’t believe you have made dresses too – my sewing mojo seems to be missing so not much happening here to my shame.

    Like

Leave a Reply

