Back Later

Amazingly, the stats wordpress gives show that people are still popping in to this blog, despite the dearth of posts. So the least I can do is proffer excuses. I was away for RL emergencies for a few weeks, came back the slow and relatively luxurious way of Brittany Ferries and then promptly came down with one of those colds that laugh in the face of Night Nurse. During this time, of course,  rampant brambles entwined our shrubs, sprouting multiple shoots that leapt from one plant to another creating an impenetrable cage. Prince Charming where are you when I need you ? How do brambles do this anyway?  The lawns grew calf high too. When the tap in my nose eventually ran dry I spent a few days in bionic gardening gloves weilding the shears, strimmer and lawn mower, and another couple of days nursing back ache and picking thorns out from exposed flesh.

The pockets I forgot in the quilted jacket are finished in a fashion. Note to self – don’t stint on the unpicking next time. It actually takes longer, doesn’t it, to wheedle pieces in to a partially unpicked seam than it would do to bite the bullet, rip the lot out and do things in the proper order. So why do I resist doing this ? Probably incurable optimism, the mental picture of how easily the job will be done overtaking common sense. I got several pins stuck between the layers in the process. You know how long it takes to manoeuvre a buried pin out through a half inch space ? The jacket will get finished, and pictures eventually,  but it’s definitely gone cold on me.

In the belief that uninspiring sewing jobs would get done quicker if the working environment was less of a tip, the sewing room is getting a reorganisation. Aims are:-

  1. make it look pleasant
  2. put stuff in logical groupings, rather than throwing it where there happens to be space
  3. remove items that aren’t useful
  4. get to grips with the dust

 

 

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back Later

  1. Fabrickated says:

    Nice to have you back. I love the way you talk about the problems nature throws our way. Good luck with the tidy up.

    Like

  2. Annie says:

    Nice to hear from you. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

    About those logical groupings, any tips? I can never find anything when I want it, I’ve had a bit of a tidy but as soon as I sit down I know it’ll be a big mess again in no time. And yes, I agree about shortcuts, sometimes they take much longer, better to just bite the bullet and start again.

    Like

  3. jay says:

    I’ll do a short post on my organisation Annie, perhaps not world shattering ideas, but maybe there will be a nugget or two of fool’s gold in there.

    Like

  4. Aunt Mayme says:

    Great to have you back as you give me such inspiration. I recently made four t-shirts, nothing fancy but wanted to lower my stash. And reading your post has given me inspiration to do more.
    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done the same with unpicking as you have done, only to be frustrated in the end. Now I unpick just the bobbin thread every inch or so, then lift the needle thread off the fabric. It’s much easier and cleaner this way, and with less hassle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

