French Patrones and Scrappy Sewing

Sewing time is still in short supply, I made a couple of bags scrappily. The first is from a really nice fabric remnant gifted to me, combined with some furnishing fabric left overs.

Fabric Gift

Fabric Gift

Insert

Insert

Bag Closed

Bag Closed

This pattern was made up on the hoof. The criteria were internal pockets to fit passport, phone, cheque book and airline or train tickets, glasses case and kindle, with enough space to carry water, crochet, a sandwich or to pile in bits of shopping. Key holder essential. Strap long enough to use on the shoulder, but short enough to carry in the hand. I made it on a pointed oval base, with an insert to widen the top.

Base

Base

It has one zipped pocket, and closes with a magnetic catch. The interior is made in a strong double faced fabric – drill on one side, a slinkier jersey on the other.

Interior

Interior

The second is in remnants from skirt made for DD, lined in recycled drill (DH’s trousers) and trimmed with recycled cotton dress fabric.

img_2448 This pattern is in Sew Serendipity Bags, though you probably wouldn’t buy the book for this alone. It’s basically two rectangles with a pocket, and strong handles. I’ve made a couple of these, and one other style from the same book as shoppers. Both styles fold up neatly.

Folded

Folded

Here’s the other style from the book I’ve used, cut out ready to sew. This one has a pocket sewn on the front into which the bag folds.

img_2449

I can’t imagine why I ever used those nasty plastic bags that supermarkets now have to charge for. Five or six home made shoppers take care of a bootful of groceries, look and feel much better and don’t cut your hand or threaten to split. All that, and the happy feeling of not using something that could end up wrapped round marine life.

Couture Actuelle

Can anyone resist browsing and buying patterns even if you end up drafting your own?  I found ‘Couture Actuelle’ in the papeterie section of a supermarket.  I believe it’s a French print version of Patrones. I had Patrones on order from Spain for a couple of years, but isn’t it nice to pick and choose from a rackful of magazines? The styles are well presented, all smart basics with a twist this time.

Style Page

Style Page

I like the collar on this jacket.

Jacket

Jacket

This blouson looks good.

Blouson Jacket

Blouson Jacket

A good wardrobe staple.

Tailored Jacket

Tailored Jacket

A great style in plus size.

Plus Size Dress

Plus Size Dress

There are also a couple of children’s garments to sew and a cute top to knit (top right on the style page).

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to French Patrones and Scrappy Sewing

  1. Siobhan S says:

    Wow, I love that shopping bag you made! Bet you get lots of compliments at the supermarket check out. I really like the look of Patrones magazines but they are unfortunately difficult to access in Aus.

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    I like the bags you made – and I agree it’s good to avoid the supermarket plastic.
    That magazine is (I think) the same issue as a friend recently brought back from Spain for me but I have lost it! I’m so frustrated because I recall there were a number of things I really liked. Look after your copy!😉

    Like

    • jay says:

      Its Patrones 364 Kim, according to an etsy site which has it on sale for a whopping $18.50. This french site journaux.fr sells sole copies I think, but I don’t know if they post abroad. Are you looking for a particular pattern in it? .

      Like

Leave a Reply

