A Homesteader in Europe

The Brexit vote has knocked me for six. Like so many others amongst the 1.3 to 2 million living in Europe, I was not allowed to vote. Do I need to spell out what fears about our situation we have? Healthcare, the right to stay, income, relations with our hosts, and more. We hear scraps of reassurance from the Brexit gang, promises they can’t promise to keep because a big part of what happens to our rights will be in the hands of the partners they no longer want. I could swallow this if I thought that prospects for my family still in the UK would improve, but, seriously, how on earth will they? As the news of the loss of our triple A rating comes in, and the brexiteers renege on their promises, whitewash their website and redo their sums, the only consolation is that Brits do gallows humour pretty well. We have, in our long history, had lots of occasions to practise it.

I’d planned a long post, but it’s all been said. This is just howling at the stars.

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Homesteader in Europe

  1. sew2pro says:

    One of my first thoughts when the result was announced was how it would affect UK friends who moved to Europe and then I realised I now have sewing friends who live in France such as you and Lynn. Sadness and uncertainty are a new mix of feelings.

    Like

  2. mrsmole says:

    My British husband living in the US has been greatly affected too. Seeing interviews with average UK residents on TV, they are saying that when they checked the box “LEAVE”, they thought it meant that all the immigrants would leave. Boris and Nigel have done a real con job. Stocks around the world have been falling hundreds of points and with Britain having no plan, no leadership they are a boat adrift with a huge hole in the hull.

    Like

    • jay says:

      Alongside that demonstration of the misunderstandings of the ref question, apparently Google had a record number of the question ‘what is the EU’. Laughing through the pain here.

      Like

  3. Lost Soul says:

    as an EU citizen who has lived and worked in the UK for over 15 years I am genuinely scared to leave the house. The people MrsMole mentions in her comment have always been around, but now their bigotry (or worse) has been legitimised and I don’t want to become one of their victims. The outlook is very dark from here too.

    Like

    • jay says:

      The behaviour of some of my compatriots is so shameful. I’m deeply sorry that you are suffering from this nasty undercurrent, and sincerely hope that something is done speedily to deal with the miscreants. I remarked to dh that at least no-one was yelling ‘go home Brits’ at us yet, and he cracked out laughing. When I asked what was funny, he said ‘Gilles said we like the English, England was one of our first colonies’. My intended long post was going to include two maps from a set book in dd’s anthro course. They show the migration of peoples, one demonstrated by the roots of language, the other by genes. The lines swirl across the globe. Patriotism, the last refuge of a scoundrel indeed.

      Like

  4. Aunt Mayme says:

    This decision took my breath away, when I realized how many people I know in Europe and will be affected by it. It’s a scary world, even moreso by this decision and all we can do is try our best to stay afloat. Rough waters ahead!

    Like

  5. Lesley says:

    Up here in Scotland we’ve been to the polls so many times in the last 2 years. I really thought we were getting a chance to heal the wounds of the indy ref and hadn’t really paid attention to the EU referendum because it was such a silly question. And yet now we face yet more uncertainty here in Scotland. I hate it and I’m so upset about this result and what it means for my family, my company, our economy and our culture

    Like

  6. There are so many imponderables it’s enough to drive one mad.

    It’s a frustrating result, Cameron failed to look beyond London and did nothing to allay the fears of ordinary people, many of whom have little understanding of the E U and how it benefits us. A large proportion of immigrants are from outside the EU and that won’t alter, not sure we’ll be able to rely on France to protect our borders either so that situation could worsen. An emotional and illogical result that could have been foreseen and addressed, too late now.

    Like

  7. Can I howl alongside you? xx

    Like

  8. helen says:

    Thanks for the post. I was truly shocked at the result. I’m also cross that the Labour party are tearing themselves to pieces rather than shouting from the rooftops about the pack of lies the British public were sold.
    I was a mixed race child growing up in 70’s Britain, the colour of my skin marked me out as inferior. I kept my head down. It’s been a long time since somebody shouted racist comments at me in street, I thought those days were gone but news reports over the last few days show me that the bigots are back out there.
    Arrghhh! I’m getting all angry again……

    Like

Leave a Reply

