Flopping Burda

You may remember I had warm feelings about May Burda Style? They are cooling.

115 looked promising for me.

Burda Hopeful

Burda Hopeful

Though it has sack-like elements, in the photo it looks as though it’s designed to fit at hip level, thus good for inverse pears.

The fabric requirements are light and fluid jersey. I was tempted to cut it on the bias in a nice blue silk, this one –

Top Left, Blue Silk

Top Left, Blue Silk

but after the size issues with 108, last post, decided to play safe and cut it in this –

Textured Oyster Jersey

Textured Oyster Jersey

My first choice from stash was a red stretch viscose jersey, but there wasn’t enough. Its a simple pattern, but quite fabric hungry, see the pieces:-

Pattern Pieces

Pattern Pieces

I went down a size, cutting a 38, but the pieces still didn’t fit side by side.

The pattern makes up in an hour, but I’m swimming in fabric. I could hack five inches out of the hip width and still have it skimming rather than hugging. My impression is that for both of the jersey dresses I’ve tried so far, Burda has used a wovens block. There is wearing ease and some. Back to self drafting I think.

 

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flopping Burda

  1. Very frustrating. I have an absolute stash of Burda magazines, and whilst there are often things I like in there I really can’t say I made many because of similar experiences to yours. Thank goodness we can draw our own patterns 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrsmole says:

    Some days just work out like this but we have to pick ourselves back up and blame the pattern and the fabric choice, Maybe the dress can be re-made into a skirt or top and salvage that interesting fabric? Your lace skirt and top are just darling!

    Like

    • jay says:

      I originally intended that fabric for a cardigan or shrug type of top layer for slightly cooler summer days. I think I’ll be able to re-use the fabric for this, because there was quite a wide strip down the side left. Each piece takes just over half the fabric width. The dress is hopeless.

      Like

  3. felicia says:

    This is too bad, because it’s a nice pattern. Now that you know how much smaller you have to go, can you make it in the red viscose jersey? That sounds like a fab combination to me. I like Burda patterns. Too bad if there’s a size issue (I haven’t made any of their knit wear yet).

    Like

    • jay says:

      That’s an idea worth exploring Felicia. I’m not 100% sure it would work because I was focused on how far off the fit on the hips was, and didn’t think about the batwingy bit (which is what takes the fabric) . I could also steel myself to make a double pattern and see if it can be dovetailed. Thanks for this idea!

      Like

  4. Love the lace, it’s just beautiful! Sorry to hear about the sizing. I’ve run into a few bumps with some patterns too. Good thing I can change my plans and salvage something out of it!

    Like

  5. fabrickated says:

    I like that pattern too – but I always like a pattern to touch the edges. And nice to see the lace getting an outing. Hoping for better weather soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

