Cloqué Complete

The skirt from the remnant of cloqué bought from Joel & Son is finished. When I bought this I visualised using the piece for a long skirt with one seam in the back, but went instead for a simple A line short skirt that will get more use.  I handstitched the hem to avoid  stitches showing on the right side and hand finished the inside edge of the waistband. Otherwise, bog standard making up process with invisible side zip.

Cloqué Skirt

Cloqué Skirt

The fabric is a mid brown with a silver grey woven pattern. A mixture of a white sewing thread and a silver embroidery thread threaded through a top stitch needle gave me a close match to the silver colour. I’m holding the decision on whether or not to top stitch the skirt seams until I’ve made the top to go with this. It’s going to be made in plain brown, salvaged from an ancient UFO, not an exact match but good with it. Somewhere I have a silver grey chiffon. That could be an alternative top.

Topstitch Sample

Topstitch Sample

Some close ups of the fabric pattern show its embroidery quality. The unusual colour combination and slightly wacky semi-abstracted natural forms appealed to me, as well as the texture contrast in the weaving technique. The silvery threads are in a soft, thickish, loose spun yarn, the crinkly background is in tight spun fine yarns in black and brown.

Woven Pattern

Woven Pattern

Flowers

Flowers

I especially like the freestyle quality of the flowers below.

More Flowers

More Flowers

At the other fabric extreme I sewed up a camisole from a scrap of left-over lycra mix originally from an ebay seller.  I almost never bother to sew stretch camisoles, but this is for a daughter who needs more length in the body than rtw offers. I’ve a fair -sized heap of camisole sized scraps, they can join the mass production queue of Vogue trousers. One pair of these was made this week too – from the version I cut with the pointed  yoke. The pattern needed significant adjustment for this daughter’s non standard measurement set.

Camisole

Camisole

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cloqué Complete

  1. fabrickated says:

    I love the skirt and I especially like day skirts in fancy fabrics – this is such a beautiful textile. The little top is cute too. Just the job for wearing in summer or under blouses and jumpers. What a productive weekend Jay.

    Like

  2. I love your fabric – Joel’s can be major league expensive but well worth buying. I’m sure you will wear that skirt lots.
    Lucky daughter! Great Camino – and it will fit. Score.

    Like

  3. I love your skirt fabric. Very unique! I haven’t seen anything like it before. Cute top too. When I see that I can’t wait until summer comes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

