Haphazard Dress From Odd Shaped Scraps

There’s no discernible reason behind this dress, it just happened.

Red and Black Scrap Dress

Red and Black Scrap Dress

I had scraps of jersey left over from when one daughter made a large red circular floor cushion with black applique from lengths from my stash. Instead of tackling the mountain of full lengths of fabrics – this brain worm wriggled out.

The red pieces of fabric all looked like this one, what’s left when you chop out a huge circle.

Odd Shape Piece

Odd Shape Piece

I used a basic pattern, cut double, laying it up on the red,

Pattern Placement

Pattern Placement

then slicing off the spare bit of pattern, leaving a seam allowance, and cutting the rest from the black, with a seam allowance to join it to the red.

Cut Piece

Cut Piece

Most of the placement was a compromise but –  a match on the side seam!

Matchy Seam!

Matchy Seam!

From last week, white trousers with rounded yoke are finished and I’m happy with the look. The yoke extends lower than the original and makes for a flatter finish over the stomach. (excuse rushed job photos with scrunched up top!)

Yoke Front Trousers

Yoke Front Trousers

Side View

Side View

And the week’s web wonders

Another scrap hoarder confesses (ha! so I’m not alone in this madness)

Scrap dress upstaged by coat of many colours

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Haphazard Dress From Odd Shaped Scraps

  1. fabrickated says:

    I love the colour blocked dress (and you look fab in your trousers). I hoard my scraps until the drawer won’t shut, then I take them to the charity shop so someone else can make a coat of many colours (it’s fun, isn’t it?)

    Like

  2. mrsmole says:

    From scraps you have made a darling dress with just the right amount of contrasting shapes…I love it! Not a big fan of big pants but yours look so trendy and comfy!

    Like

    • jay says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence mrsmole, I’m more pleased with the dress than I expected to be. It’s a workhorse, but why did I do this instead of making up the lengths of fabric purchased for proper projects?

      Like

  3. prttynpnk says:

    My scraps will always look like scraps- I applaud your vision and skills!

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Fantastic trousers, especially in white. I love the dress and admire your creativity.

    Like

  5. That’s one productive brain worm! I love the dress too and the pants – gotta have a good pair of white ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

