Sloppy Stitching

If anyone’s running a Mucked Up March Comp for the sloppiest sewing, I’m ahead of the game with this top. Eat your heart out H&M.

gold top

gold top

It started off reasonably, last week. The pattern making was pretty methodical. Then on Monday it hit me that I needed to subtract two weeks from the deadline in case the fit was off and it had to be sent back for alteration.

sloppy stitching

sloppy stitching

See? Corners cut , or more accurately missed entirely.  Flying blind into the first method that popped into my mind with zero unpicking. It takes some nerve to ignore this.

 zip and miss

zip and miss

Interior unfinished,  hit and miss binding, bad buttonholes.  The invisible zip went in perfectly, but then I ran a second ugly run of top stitching over the drapes for more rapid back stage changes. So not even that’s up to scratch.

So how about it? Can you flaunt some crappily sewn constructions? Or does your inner neat freak tighten her grip when you mess up and waft the quick unpicker in front of your nose?  Can you plough on, ignoring flapping threads, mismatched notches and seamy wobbles? Or are you constitutionally incapable of bad sewing. Someone should design a badge for this stuff.

With this gem in the post I drafted a pattern for an unstructured jacket to use a piece of rayon velvet in a divine soft green, bought at a ridiculously low price in a London market. Early birds had flocked there before me, I snatched the last two yards.

jacket pattern

jacket pattern

It has a grown on collar and shaped cut away front, edge to edge fastening. I usually draft my patterns without seam allowances so that I can adapt to the fabric I’m using.

I expected to have the jacket finished by the end of the week, but the velvet takes no prisoners. It slips in all directions. Tacking and slow, slow stitching essential. Pressing was  approached gingerly, nervously touching down the toe of the iron, with paper under the edges of the seam allowances and darts and sandwiching the piece between spare scraps of velvet. I know….. I should buy a needleboard instead of so much fabric.

jacket interior

jacket interior

The outer bodice part and facings are finished, lining and sleeves next week.

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Pattern Making, Sewing methods and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sloppy Stitching

  1. Don’t beat yourself up. I sew for clients who rarely notice the tiny detail that you spent over budget to get ‘just right’. I think we are very hard on ourselves and should occasionally just celebrate our abilities. That jacket looks as though it is going to be beautiful!

    Like

  2. mrsmole says:

    I’m with Kim…we go the extra mile (or two) for people who just want the zipper to zip and buttons to button but if it is in your nature, there is very little you can do to stop yourself “fixing” things. I have to tell myself that the next garment will be closer to perfect and move along to the deadline. Velvet…another wild animal to be tamed…don’t envy you but love the color and style so far…good luck, Jay!

    Like

  3. prttynpnk says:

    I try to fix things- for the learning process, but sometimes I let it go if it is starting to destroy thefabric!

    Like

  4. fabrickated says:

    Interesting question. I strive for perfect but often settle for good enough. I really like that green velvet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

