Sew Not Dead Yet

Clutching at straws for a blog name three years ago, I almost called it SNDY. I mean I sew for fun.

2015 brought the usual crop of resolutions in the sewing community, organisation fits, destashing, and finally nailing that impeccable wardrobe.

Do you spot a problem with that last one? Assuming you don’t have a vast budget, a room sized clothing cupboard and a stylist, doesn’t it always come down to sewing up a bunch of basics in a neutral colour? Ten or twelve black or grey garments will get you through most occasions but how much fun is making them and would you rather watch paint dry?

Don’t get me wrong, I can sit back and admire  minimalism and discipline when someone else is fine tuning their clothes collection, but who am I kidding?  Sewing my own clothes will continue to be helter skelter through eclecticism. Its going to be a colour fest, a style mish mash and pattern pandemonium. Later I’ll weed out the wadders, pass on the overly optimistic, remake the ridiculous.

How about you – disciplined or chaotic, organisation freak or making mahem? There’s a simple test.  Have you sewn a chic, got together working wardrobe or a haphazard heap of mis-matches you can’t bear to part with ?

This week I got a bit further with the red bouclé re-run, and sewed a dd blouse. She picked this gloriously pink, fantastically fluid figured silk from Angus International five years ago, so I didn’t rush into anything.

pink silk

pink silk

I used it with the matt background as RS, either would have been good.

cowl blouse

cowl blouse

Yes, another cowl.  This time made with slightly belled sleeves, all cut on the bias including the sleeves to show off the soft flowing look of the fabric.

Here’s the jacket in progress.

red bouclé jacket

red bouclé jacket

Now what I actually need is a good basic black straight skirt, and some black twill or baby cord narrow leg jeans. I wonder how long I can put off making those?

 

 

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Designed by me, Opinions Questions Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sew Not Dead Yet

  1. While reading this I realized that I tend to buy the boring basics–pants/skirts/layering tops in black/white/navy/khaki–and then I make the fun, colorful tops that I wear with them. Cause sewing’s about creativity and fun to me (as is dressing, come to think of it).

    Like

  2. Zoe says:

    I wrote about the limitations of the minimalist wardrobe recently, so love the topic (obviously!). I’ve decided I like colour. I make dresses but really wear jeans and t-shirts just as much. So I’m trying to make more t-shirts this year. But they won’t be neutrals. When I went travelling I started ruling out black and white. I’ve never really looked back. ALthough I did then get some of my stuff out of storage after a couple of years and wondered if I really did dress in such a dull way.

    The biggest problem I encounter in making basics is finding good quality fabrics in the colours I’m after. The clearer the idea I have in my head of what I want, the less chance I’ll have of finding it!

    Like

  3. mrsmole says:

    As you know I spend my days working on white and ivory dresses but this year I have bought and cut bright colored knits for leggings and bought bright tops to wear with them in the sewing studio when I work on brides. It cheers me up and gives me a chance to war some crazy earrings too. So many of my chronically and clinically depressed friends wear black and grey everyday and wonder why they cannot escape the doom and gloom. If you are worried about bright colors showing off your butt or hips…well, black won’t do much better so you might as well celebrate the body, after all it is just vehicle we have been given for this time around. I want your jacket!!!!

    Like

  4. I always seem to start with great intentions of a very chic coordinated wardrobe but it seems to run amok before reaching that. Perhaps that is because, like you, I enjoy colour and would prefer to struggle to look chic than look boring easily.

    Like

  5. A City Girl says:

    I once said I was not buying anything unless it was black, white, gray or tan. Thats it. then I went out and purchased hundreds of dollars of colorful fabrics for tops and such. all the fabric is packed in boxes in my shed. Have not touched them and its such a shame because I NEVER have anything to wear, and I sew beautifully. But in my defense I have this Husqvarna that I don’t know how to use. But thats also an excuse because I also have a Pfaf that I do know how to use. Who am I kidding…I’m just lazy. I hope you inspire me to get busy. errr I mean sewing.

    Like

    • jay says:

      Colourful tops – get stitching CityGirl! The cowl top above and all its variations is the perfect lazy day project. An hour of laid back stitching will get it done. No darts, self finishing seams, that’s why I curn them out.

      Liked by 1 person

      • A City Girl says:

        My excuses…have to get a space ready where I can stretch out…have to go out in the shed to get my fabric…have to learn how to use this new sewing machine…need more time in the day LOL but I KNOW when I start I am going to be a machine cranking it out like you. Thats why I subscribed to your blog…inspiration!!

        Like

  6. fabrickated says:

    I really love that light pink cowl Jay. Lovely work. And I hate sewing neutrals, which is another reason why I don’t knit. Days of staring at one shade of wool is the kiss of death for me.

    Like

    • jay says:

      I’m guessing the other knitting no-no is the time it takes to grow a garment? Not mentioning dropped stitches or sizing calculations gone to pot.

      Like

  7. My plan? Well it started with a base of black, then I added brown, then I liked blue, and sometimes green, and oh yes, can’t forget the red! And then there is any print that goes with all those solids! That’s my plan! Like a dog with squirrels! Sound good?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. CarmencitaB says:

    I do have good intentions, but fun stuff keeps jumping the queue! I’m a hopeless wardrobe builder and frankly, I don’t give a damn.

    Like

  9. That jacket looks great so far!

    I tend to formulate a rough plan based on what I’ve decided I need or really want, but if I get inspired I will veer straight off that path and frolic in the green, flowery fields of creativity with my latest shiny idea until it’s out of my head (whether successful or not). I really relate to your perspective in that regard: sewing is not something that I treat as prescriptive. Minimalism is nice and all, but it’s not my bag. I’ll edit when I’m dead. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

