Pattern Stash

Last month I sewed 46 patterns from my stash, entering Sewing Pattern Review’s Pattern Stash Contest. Beanchor sewed a truly amazing 51, which you can see here.

Here is the Pattern Review gallery. There were some lovely contributions, and what can I say, all together, a heck of lot of sewing went on.

I was asked how I sewed so much  and don’t really have an answer. I have manic sewing episodes, this was just a slightly longer one.  I made no plans to take part, it just happened after I made this hat.

Vogue 8405DSC_1444

This dress came nextdress1Made from the truly dire vintage Vogue 8707.

Then I started rifling through stashed patterns and old magazines, and imagining styles made up in stashed fabric. A few skirts got made.

 

From left to right first row

1. a dead simple skirt from an old Burda magazine pattern, made in a jersey fabric which has horizontal flounces of grey knitted in to a black background. Waistband black jersey done yoga pants style.

2. printed cotton skirt lightly gathered onto a shaped yoke, old Patrones magazine

3. Straight skirt with side pockets from a pattern passed down to me

Second row

1. A line skirt in fine black and white stripe cotton

2. Skirt from a Burda magazine pattern, 18 small tucks at the front. Yes, I am crazy.

3. Skirt in a printed voile with a shirred top set onto a yoke (why shirring not gathering? Ask Patrones)

Third row

1. Gored skirt constructed from ancient Burda mag. pattern, in a printed crepe, set on a black waistband.

2. Bias cut flared  skirt in a printed chiffon with woven satin stripes

3. Bias cut flared skirt from freebie Marfy pattern (well free with pricey catalogue that is)

Fourth row

1. A line skirt in wild print on cotton.

2. Black poly basic straight skirt with side slits.

3. Velvet skirt with overlapped shaped side slits faced back.

More next post ha ha.

 

 

 

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Sewing Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pattern Stash

  1. Melissa says:

    Eek, you so put me to shame! Well done on your stash busting and some fab makes there!

    Like

  2. fabrickated says:

    Wow! I can’t believe your productivity – you certainly came back with a bang. Are they all for you Jay, or are you clothing the entire district?

    Like

  3. prttynpnk says:

    Nicely done! I conked out as new patterns started taunting me hard!

    Like

  4. jay says:

    Thanks everyone, some were for me, some for various family members. Anne, I think you made the sane decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

