Vogue 2981

I’m making this battered, oft pinned and clipped trouser pattern up for one daughter. Its got to be the zillionth time I’ve used it, in various sizes.V2981

Here’s what I wrote in 2010 on Sewing Pattern Review

Pattern Description: “Fitted straight shorts or very loose-fitting, flared pants have below waist yokes, side front pockets, fly zipper and back welt pockets. A: front pocket piping.” I made B , the loose fitting pants

Pattern Sizing: comes 12 – 18, I made 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? pretty much, different fabric and minor changes I made apart.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Extremely easy, those which I used anyway. I do a different zip on all trousers, so can’t comment on that part. The very best instruction part in this pattern is their description of making those side (Italian style) pockets with a french seam around the pocket bag so that the turnings are all neatly enclosed. If you’ve never done one of these, the instructions in this pattern are very well laid out.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I have made this up several times . The other times have been in larger sizes for my dds and although they are a different size and fit from me and from each other this pattern has fitted everyone right out of the envelope, with only minor tweaking. This is unusual for pants patterns! I like trousers of this style – the pockets, pleats and the wide fit at the hem. The hem comes out around 28 inches by the way. The wonky model pose is trying to show how wide they are!

Fabric Used:
I used a cotton drill bought very cheaply from the East End store I often use for bargain fabric. I used a black cotton I found in scraps to back the waistband and for the under pocket.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not use the back pockets. I don’t use back pockets on trousers and skipped them. I changed the zip insertion to my way – grown on fly.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes. I have also made this up without the front pleats and pockets for one dd who wanted one pair of simple pants. I closed off the pleats in the pattern by folding them away, and lay the pocket piece on with the front to make one piece. Worked fine. If I make it for me again, I may raise the waistband about an inch, and not have a belt.

The photo of the ones I made in 2010 has vanished in a flickr cull, but I found Loohoo Originals  2008 post with good pictures. Lazy blogging I admit, but the ones I’m making are a basic black, not easy to photograph and not so interesting.

If you’re looking for this classic style of pants, wide legs, slouchy pockets, pleated front, deep waistband/yoke, this is a great pattern. None of my usual griping and side swiping about Vogue pattern blocks and fit apply here. It works, the pieces fit, the pockets are a nice size, position and depth, there isn’t a bizarre amount of ease. The waist shaping is all in the curved yoke piece, so you do need to check the fit of that on your own shape before cutting into precious fabric. If its too loose at the top, you would have to pinch out some dart shaped pieces, so as to get a greater curve. If you don’t curve in much at waist level, you’d do the reverse, slashing down from the waist at intervals and opening the top edge, ending up with a straighter curve.

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vogue 2981

  1. mrsmole says:

    Your daughter is lucky to have you make such classic trousers with such detailed pieces and inside features. Even though you say you have made these a lot, you still have to do lots of thinking time to get them right every time. Yokes and fly fronts and pockets with French seams don’t come cheap in the brain power department!

    Like

  2. Pella says:

    Well, thanks for crediting me with more brain power than I actually used on these Mrsmole. They are really quite quick if you don’t need alterations (she didn’t). I used my usual grown on fly method which gets done first, so its downhill after that. The pockets are really well drafted, as long as you take the correct seam allowance when doing the french seam its a doddle.

    Like

  3. I have something similar in my list of wanna makes but it is a later addition to the Vogue set (can’t find it right now in the tip that is my sewing room!) and I hope it will be a goodie. Wish 2981 was still available as well drafted pants patterns are rare it seems.

    Like

  4. Pella says:

    I found one for sale on Lanetzliving when I was googling for pictures Calico Stretch, it might be worth checking ebay if you fancy the Alice and Olivia one.

    Like

  5. Good to know-I have a couple of Vogue pants patterns (from before I realised they live in made up world of inconsistent ease) I’ve never tried. My Ottobre and Knipmode trousers fit me well so I’ll probably stick with them for now. I do want to try the Vogues I have someday though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

