Lucky ol’ me

The Perfect Nose is a wonderful, information rich blog. Dive in for tell it like it is book reviews, nuggets of the computer savvy I so sadly lack, Friday freebies wherein the means of accessing a vintage book gem you’d otherwise have to spend hours searching for miraculously appears as a handy link button with those mind numbing copyright issues worked out for you, some very chic and original garments superbly photographed, an organised swapsee for your sewing cast offs,  links to occupy some of your time pretending you’re expanding your mind, and some fun graphics. As if that wasn’t enough, there are draws for giveaways .

I put my name down for Cut Up Couture, Koko Yamase,  and to my huge surprise*, won the draw. It arrived at the speed of light, Thank You Tj;

This looks pretty good,Sans titre-1 both as a top and as a skirt.Scan This is interesting too,scan3 you turn through the bottom of a large tee to get the fluted collar. With a bit of midriff cover, (second tee underneath?) I can see this working. I like the tabs.

There are three big pluses with this book, the projects come with very clear diagrams, easy to find,  there are lots of wearable-looking garments to pick from, and the ideas are quick to make, with minimal unpicking and few extra resources. It looks like instant gratification, no tears creation, just right for trying out on my next stay in London.

The second visit of lady luck I engineered – taking advantage of the pre Christmas Vogue 75% off sale, and maxing out the lowest posting band, I won these patterns for, by European standards, a rather small outlay . My Christmas present to me.

Vogue 1283,Vogue 1317,Vogue 1239,Vogue 8825,Vogue 1257,Vogue 8848,Vogue 1328

IMG_1092

IMG_1093Well, someone has to be the first to break their New Year Res.

(*I never win anything, honestly, never! So this came as a shock, a reversal of the natural order of things.)

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lucky ol’ me

  1. sew2pro says:

    Congratulations on your new acquisitions. I shall be keeping my beady eye on anything you make from Cut up Couture!

    I just bought a tonne of fabric!

    Like

  2. Pella says:

    A tonne huh! Will we be getting a preview?

    Like

  3. Yay, I’m so glad it reached safely-I remembered at least thrice during the week that I’d forgotten to tell you I’d shipped it – each time I was far from a computer (or in bed just about to fall asleep) XD I can’t wait to see what you make and thanks so much for the kind words and link love. Oh btw- the link needs to have http:// in front of it i.e. the whole URL otherwise wordpress tries to link within itself..

    Like

  4. Pella says:

    Ooops, sorry, fixed the link.

    Like

  5. Those are some lovely Christmas pressies to yourself. I did the same thing with the Vogue sale end of last year … spent too much above my sewing skill level but their time will come. I look forward to seeing what you make. Perhaps you need a tonne of fabric too? 🙂

    And the book from TJ – that looks very cool. I wanna see if my library carries it …. trying not to acquire more books though love the idea of reusing garments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

