Jacket pocket

Pockets, I find tricky. The placement, the style, the size. I’m on my second pocket flap now, more rounded. Ignore the great black line through this photo – its rained too solidly to attempt an outdoor shot, so its the decrepit mirror tiles again. I’ve pinned the roll line in the collar too, so that I can transfer it to the pattern. Here’s the pocket flap from the side

  Has anyone found a good online resource for pocket styles? I’m not completely thrilled with my effort so far.

Below the flap are soft inverted pleats, (like a released tuck) which I’m experimenting with instead of the original idea of more formal inverted pleats. They’re looking a bit scrappy because I had to raid the seam allowance to make them on this toile.

My Clover double tracing wheel as recommended by The Perfect Nose arrived yesterday from Mercerie Rascol. (They were very quick.) So, now I don’t really have any excuse not to get on with the cutting out .

About jay

I design and draft patterns
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jacket pocket

  1. Katie says:

    I love the shape and size of the pocket flap. There is something about the position that I wasn’t sure I loved. but the more I thought about it, and looked at the pictures, the more I think it is just right. I really love the pleat detail below the pocket and moving it would disrupt the proportion there. I think it’s a go!

    Like

  2. sew2pro says:

    I’m tempted to agree with the above, but mostly because my only attempt to make a jacket came to an abrupt halt when I tried to change the style lines in the pocket area. (That was 3 years ago, and I should have got right back on the horse but didn’t.)

    Really look forward to following your progress.

    Like

  3. Anne W says:

    Hmm, I think that if you look at the top photo you see the size and shape of the collar and the positioning of the pocket flap combine to give you that classic hourglass shape. I’d leave it as is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

