Been busy

 

Vogue 2031, the Goeffrey Beene dress, has been finished for a couple of weeks now, and has the biscuit crumbs in the pockets to prove it. I’m holding off photographing until the grey grey grey weather breaks. It deserves an on the person shot, because it really is a humdinger of a pattern. If you see it on fleabay and feel tempted, give in.

I made it up aeons ago as a jacket – slicing up the centre front, adding a contrast band and buttons.

100_1291For this the cap sleeves were extended to a kimono sleeve shape, but apart from those simple alterations and hacking off the hem at the level of the bottom of the pockets it was unchanged.

Since then, in fits and starts, between festive food prep and clearing up, I’ve been tackling this one.IMG_1082Vogue 1218, on the sewing room floor. What I’ve learnt so far is :-

it’s ok made up in a one way stretch if you can’t find a good two way stretch, as called for in the pattern

if you have fabric which frays you need to rethink the finish on the neck edge

it’s a snug fit, in fact, it takes no prisoners.

its shorter than you’d guess from the envelope

you should pay attention to reviewers and bloggers who tell you the neckline is ludicrously low. I didn’t. I held the pattern against me, it seemed ok, big mistake. About four inches of mistake actually, not just a don’t lean forward or get backed into the coffee machine by a space invader kind of mistake. More of a Minoan priestess look.

minoan priestess

the armholes are bra band revealingly low.

I like the red too much to chuck it at this stage.

Happy 2013 sewing sisters.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Been busy

  1. mrsmole says:

    What was Donna Karan smoking when she made this pattern? Fraying edges, raw edges, wires? If it weren’t so skin tight it would be what we call a “jumper” here in the US…something you could wear a blouse or turtleneck underneath. With all the fluffy crumb catch business in front you could not even wear a jacket over it without getting stares or being strip searched at the airport.

    • Pella says:

      I’m still undecided about the wire – in my fabric, with the weight and stiffness of the facing I used, its a bit OTT. Hmm, yes, I hadn’t considered the crumb catching or setting off airport security scanners, I see a seam ripper looming. Something worn underneath might be the solution I opt for – easier than rejigging the whole top section.

  2. sew2pro says:

    He he, the Minoan priestess has her own dress pattern?!
    But I like the jacket very much and am fishing for the pattern on fleabay!

  3. Pella says:

    DK must have been tripping back in time.

  4. prttynpnk says:

    I’m sure she didnt try to pass this design off on the Streisand!

  5. That Vogue pattern has been laying in a corner for awhile now. It’s so close to being done, but I’m a little frustrated. The neckline seams got all wonky as I was hemming them & they won’t lay flat. Since then, I started using fusible stay tape on my knits & I really wish I had used that on this project. Also, I hemmed the ruffles. After all the work I did, I did not want unsightly fraying to appear! I actually like the wire ribbon, but probably just because it’s a new to me technique.

  6. Oh the sadness. I hope you manage to salvage this – it looks nice!

    • Pella says:

      Hi Kim, I’m battling on, but I think its definitely going to end up as a pinafore dress – the plunge and the side-bra are unsalvageable.

  7. Wow that sounds darn complicated so I hope it gets figured out! I am very interested to see how you cover up the front and side exposure areas!!

  8. fabrickated says:

    Did you ever photograph the Geoffrey Beene? I am sorely tempted but would love to see it on. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

